If you are searching Google Scholar off-campus, set your preferences in Google Scholar Settings to link to the Saint Mary's online collections.
For information on journal quality and what to look out for when searching for journal articles on the web (e.g., in Google Scholar), see the Library's Open Access guide page on Predatory Publishers.
You can also look up a journal in the following source as one way to check for quality and credibility:
Identifies journals which use deceptive practices and threaten the quality of scholarly publication.
This is just a small selection of ejournals available for you. Please search BrowZine or the Journals A-Z list for other titles.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
The following databases are suggested starting points for research in Engineering. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
Access to more than 700 eBooks supporting all levels of engineering, scientific, and technical research.
Access to thousands of authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Contains three linked databases indexing sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities scholarly articles.
Full-text access to over 2000 journals covering the physical sciences, engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Full-text articles in highly rated academic journals (over 1,600) in disciplines of science, social science, and business.
Other useful databases:
Full-text collection of ACM publications covering computing and information technology.
Covers 34 physics related journals (10 years full-text coverage; 31 years abstract coverage).
Indexes 1,600 mathematics and related journals and book summaries. Coverage from 1940 to present.
Full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed Oxford University Press journals in a range of subjects.
Full-text access to science, technology, and medicine scholarly journals.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.
