Subject & Research Guides: Engineering: Reference Shelf

Using the Library Reference Collection

The Patrick Power Library has many engineering books in the print Reference Collection on the main floor. Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. These books cannot be borrowed, but they are an excellent starting point for research. Typical items in the reference collection include:

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries and thesauri
Handbooks
Bibliographies

When you use reference books, remember to cite individual entries if possible and use the indexes to search for your keywords.

Reference eResources

Online Sources

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. It offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.

Engineering Reference eBooks

Below is a selection of the many engineering ebooks we have available to you. Please search the catalog for titles or subjects not listed below.

CIRP Encyclopedia of Production Engineering
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2014
The CIRP Encyclopedia covers the state-of-art of advanced technologies, methods and models for production, production engineering and logistics.
Geotechnical Engineers Portable Handbook
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2012
Instant access to the latest geotechnical engineering data Fully updated to include the 2012 International Building Code (IBC), Geotechnical Engineer's Portable Handbook, Second Edition, features a wealth of on-the-job geotechnical and construction related information in a convenient, quick-reference format.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12E
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781259588501
Publication Date: 2017
This 100th Anniversary Edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's Mechanical Engineer.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2007
Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics--from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications.

Engineering Reference Books - PRINT

Dictionary of Engineering Materials
Call Number: TA402 .K43 2004 REF
Publication Date: 2004
The only dictionary of its kind, Dictionary of Engineering Materials contains more than 25,000 generic, trade-named, and trademarked engineering materials, all alphabetically arranged and complete with full explanations.
Encyclopedia of Optical Engineering
Call Number: TA1509 .E55 2003 REF
Publication Date: 2003
Compiled by 330 of the most widely respected names in the electro-optical sciences, the Encyclopedia of Optical Engineeringis destined to serve as the premiere guide in the field with nearly 2,000 figures, 560 photographs, 260 tables, and 3,800 equations.
Encyclopedia of Statistics in Quality and Reliability
Call Number: TS156 E54 2007 REF
Publication Date: 2008
An essential reference for statisticians, engineers, and quality professionals in industry, academia, and government. Providing a practical orientation with a large selection of case studies, this multi-volume state-of-the-art publication examines the widespread use of Six Sigma.
The Engineering Handbook
Call Number: TA151 .E424 2005 REF
Publication Date: 2004
The Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is designed to enlighten experts in areas outside their own specialties, to refresh the knowledge of mature practitioners, and to educate engineering novices.
Handbook of Structural Engineering
Call Number: TA633 .H36 2005 REF
Publication Date: 2005
A comprehensive reference to the broad spectrum of structural engineering, encapsulating the theoretical, practical, and computational aspects of the field.
IEEE 100: The Authoritative Dictionary of IEEE Standard Terms
Call Number: TK9 .I28 2000 REF
Publication Date: 2000
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Call Number: TP9 .E685 2004 REF
Publication Date: 2004
The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information.
Reference Data for Engineers
Call Number: TK6552 .F4 2002 REF
Publication Date: 2001
This book is a complete reference for engineers, covering a broad range of topics. It is the combined effort of 96 engineers, scientists, educators, and other recognized specialists in the fields of electronics, radio, computer, and communications technology.
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers
Call Number: TA151 .S8 2004 REF
Publication Date: 2004
A revision of the classic reference covering all important principles and techniques needed by practicing civil engineers.
Standard Handbook of Electronic Engineering
Call Number: TK7825 .S7 2005 REF
Publication Date: 2004
Includes applications sections that focus upon communications, networked media, and medicine, useful for majority of graduating EEs.