The following databases are suggested starting points for research in English Language and Literature. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
More than 350,000 literary works and a large library of key criticism and reference resources.
Key index to international scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage from the early 20th century to the present. Links to full-text in JSTOR and Project MUSE.
Full-text access to over 800 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Other useful databases:
Access to more than 200 years of scholarship in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
A guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases from across the English-speaking world.
Offers in-depth and full-text coverage of over 60 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
A fully-searchable resource which contains every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902-2019.
Full-text primary source documents by and about great historical figures in philosophy, theology, politics, and literature.
Here is a selection of English Language and Literature journals available in the library. You can also look up journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.
A growing number of peer-reviewed journals are published open-access online. Here are a few in English studies. The library catalogue contains links to these journals as well.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journals A-Z list to see if it is available at Saint Mary's.
Watch a play, listen to a poem and more. . . check out these video and audio resources.
Streaming video access to 439 plays, documentaries, and supporting materials on theatre, drama, and playwrights.
Over 6,500 documentaries, animated films, and short films in English and French, with more than 1,700 exclusive titles.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.