If you are searching Google Scholar off-campus, set your preferences in Google Scholar Settings to link to the Saint Mary's online collections.
For information on journal quality and what to look out for when searching for journal articles on the web (e.g., in Google Scholar), see the Library's Open Access guide page on Predatory Publishers.
You can also look up a journal in the following source as one way to check for quality and credibility:
Identifies journals which use deceptive practices and threaten the quality of scholarly publication.
The following databases are suggested starting points for research in Indigenous Studies. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
Multi-disciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Indexes over 1,700 journals on U.S. and Canadian history, from pre-history to the present. Includes abstracts in English of articles published in over 40 languages.
Full-text articles on current affairs and business issues from Canadian periodicals and news sources.
Contains many Canadian full-text journals, magazines, and news sources.
Access to more than 12 million journal articles, books images, and primary sources in the arts and social sciences.
Key index to international scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage from the early 20th century to the present. Links to full-text in JSTOR and Project MUSE.
Other useful databases:
Key index to international scholarship in public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Coverage from 1972 to the present.
Key index for scholarship in sociology and related disciplines. Links to full-text in other databases.
Here is a selection of journals relevant to indigenous studies, available in the library. You can also look up journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.
The following library databases contain collections of primary sources and documentaries that are relevant for Indigenous Studies. Most databases can be accessed from on or off-campus using your "S" number and password.
Over 2 million pages of digitized source materials in Canadian history, literature, and politics.
Over 6,500 documentaries, animated films, and short films in English and French, with more than 1,700 exclusive titles.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.
