Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.
Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.
|
FC 2154 E52 REF |
|
|
FC 104 E56 1999 REF |
|
|
Z 1395 M5 A45 2000 REF |
|
|
G 1125 N69 2006 REF |
|
|
FC 23 O94 2004 REF |
The Princeton companion to Atlantic history D 210 .P936 2014 REF
Encyclopedia of native tribes of North America E76.2 .J64 2014 REF
The library has many language dictionaries, historical and contemporary. Search the catalogue by language with the keyword: dictionary. A few titles are listed below as examples:
| Alberta Elders' Cree Dictionary | PM 988 L42 1998 |
| Blackfoot Grammar |
PM 2342 F68 2017 PM 2342 F68 2017 |
| Dictionary of the language of the Micmac Indians who reside in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Cape Breton, and Newfoundland | PM 1793 R3 1972 |
| Kilusuaqaney wi'katikin: Newfoundland Micmac Picture Dictionary | PM 1793 H48 |
| The Metallic Mìgmaq-English Reference Dictionary |
PM 1793 M48 2005
|
|
Online Resource: |
SMU Newspaper databases
The digitized, full-image version of the The Globe and Mail newspaper. Coverage from 1844 to 2019.
Online news database that provides full-text coverage of many Canadian and international newspapers.
Archive contains digitized full-image versions of the complete contents of the Toronto Star newspaper from 1894 to 2020.
Newspapers (not from SMU databases)