Subject & Research Guides: Management: Company Research

Company Research

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of economics, management, accounting, marketing and finance. Provides full-text articles from more than 2,300 journals (1,100 peer-reviewed).

Special Strategies to find company info in Business Source Premier:

Select the Company Profiles Tab in the Blue Menu Bar at the top of the Search Screen, then browse or add keywords to narrow results.
Search: DE "SWOT analysis" AND [keywords to represent the company or sector of interest]
Search: DE = "STRATEGIC planning" AND [keywords to represent the company or sector of interest]
Search: DE "COMPETITIVE advantage in business" [keywords to represent the company or sector of interest]

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Access to over 100 million private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, and executive information. Updated daily.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Mergent Online will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas as of January 2025
Covers U.S. and international private and publicly traded companies, bonds, and economic and industry reports.
Saint Mary's Mergent Online Guide

International Directory of Company Histories
Call Number: HD 2721 I57 - In Reference Collection
This multi-volume series provides detailed histories of more than 8,500 of the most influential companies worldwide.

Annual Reports Directory
The most complete and up-to-date listing of annual reports on the internet. Search by company name, stock exchange, industry or industry sector. Includes links to company websites, and identifies related industry sectors.
Crunchbase
Detailed investment information on startup companies, executives, and investors in Canada and globally. Search the Business Graph to link them all together.
Finding Company Information in ABI/INFORM
This series of instructional videos from ProQuest teaches users how to build search strategies in the ABI/INFORM database, in order to find comprehensive company information.
Investor Fact Sheets Directory
A free, website compilation of Investor fact sheets. A fact sheet tells a company's story, providing an up-to-date "snapshot" of where a company is and where it's going. The key sections are: Company Profile, Market Facts, Financial Highlights, Forward Strategy, and Management. Search by Company Name, Exchange, Industry, Sector, and more.
Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.
Responsibility Reports Directory
For Socially Responsible Investors (SRI), responsibility reports are the most important research tool available. Responsibility Reports enable investors to stay up to date on how a company's social & environmental performance. Search by Company Name, Exchange, Industry, Sector, and more.

Canada:

SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)
Provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.
SEDI: System for Electronic Disclosure by Insiders
Canada's on-line service for the filing and viewing of insider reports as required by various provincial securities rules and regulations.

United States and Interntional:

EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval) - U.S. SEC Filings
Database of Corporate Filings received by United States Securities and Exchange Commission. Search by company name, geography (U.S. States) and SIC Codes and more. Company filings are also available via Mergent Online database. See overview of EDGAR here

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online covers U.S. and international private and publicly traded companies, bonds, and economic and industry reports. Select "Government Filings" to view the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canadian) filings.

International Organization of Securities Commissions.
Provides links to the websites of SEC-equivalent regulatory bodies around the world.

Capital IQ Handout - Company Intelligence
Information on searching company profiles, profile data, financials/valuations, etc.

Dun & Bradstreet Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Financial information and ratios for industries in Canada. Formerly known as Industrial Norms & Key Business Ratios
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Mergent Online will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas as of January 2025
Covers U.S. and international private and publicly traded companies, bonds, and economic and industry reports.
Saint Mary's Mergent Online Guide
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of thousands of corporate and industry related documents, covering over 100 countries and industries.

SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)
Provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.
TSX Online (on campus only)
Historical stock prices and financial data for companies traded on the Toronto Stock exchange.
Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA)
Securities regulators from each of the 10 provinces and 3 territories in Canada have teamed up to form the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA). The CSA protects Canadian investors from unfair, improper, or fraudulent practices and fosters fair and efficient capital markets.
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
Nova Scotia Securities Commission was established to provide investors with protection in accordance with Nova Scotia's securities laws from practices and activities that tend to undermine investor confidence in the fairness and efficiency of capital markets.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
The mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation.
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval) - U.S. SEC Filings
Database of Corporate Filings received by United States Securities and Exchange Commission. Search by company name, geography (U.S. States) and SIC Codes and more. Company filings are also available via Mergent Online database. See overview of EDGAR here