Subject & Research Guides: Statistics & Data: Corporate

Corporate Finance Tools

Most databases may be accessed from on or off-campus with your "S" number and password.

International Directory of Company Histories
Company Histories, (searched via the Business Insights Global database) profile the development of thousands of the world’s largest and most influential companies. Useful for finding parent and child relationships among companies. Look to the left sidebar, to search for company names within these results, or to limit by publication date and other filters.
Inter-corporate Ownership (61-517-X)
A unique directory of "who owns what" in Canada, published annually by Statistics Canada. It provides up-to-date information reflecting recent corporate takeovers and other substantial changes. Select the most recent annual release title in the list of releases to begin.
For help, see: How to use the ICO database
more...less...
The information is based on non-confidential returns filed by Canadian corporations under the Corporations Returns Act and on research using public sources such as internet sites. Covers every individual corporation that is part of a group of commonly controlled corporations with combined assets exceeding 600 million dollars or combined revenue exceeding 200 million dollars. Individual corporations with debt obligations or equity owing to non-residents exceeding a net book value of 1 million dollars are covered as well.

Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS)
Presents and analyses industry data on a number of economic indicators, using the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada.
- Search by keyword or browse Industry sectors (arranged by Canadian NAICS codes
Financial Performance Data (Industry Canada)
Industry Canada database of financial information and ratios for Canadian industries (small and medium-sized enterprise operations only)
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Canada 2012
Standard classifications systems such as the Standard Industrial Classification system (SIC) and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are developed by government statistical agencies as a means to group company and industry data. Commercial publishers may develop their own classification system, usually based on the government system, and will often indicate an SIC code or an NAICS code as part of a company description in a directory or database.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Mergent Online will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas as of January 2025
Covers U.S. and international private and publicly traded companies, bonds, and economic and industry reports.
Saint Mary's Mergent Online Guide
Mergent Bond Viewer This link opens in a new window
TSX Online (Toronto Stock Exchange and TSX E-Review via U of T data services) This link opens in a new window
Value Line Investment Survey / Value Line Fund Advisor This link opens in a new window

Standard & Poor's 500 Guide: America's Most Watched Companies
2010 edition in Library Reference Collection - includes Analyst data, key income and balance sheet stats; use to identify an interesting company.
Call number: HG 4057 A4758 2010 SMUREF
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval) - U.S. SEC Filings
Database of Corporate Filings received by United States Securities and Exchange Commission. Search by company name, geography (U.S. States) and SIC Codes and more. Company filings are also available via Mergent Online database. See overview of EDGAR here
SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)
Provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.

Capital IQ Handout - Company Intelligence
Information on searching company profiles, profile data, financials/valuations, etc.
Capital IQ Handout - A Quick Reference Guide for Academia
Tips on how to access Capital IQ, Look up company/person profiles, market analysis, company screening, etc.