Subject & Research Guides: Government Documents and Information Canada: Federal

Searching Government Documents

Government documents are normally found on the website of a specific department of the Government. When possible perform the search on the department's website. Some departments have their own searchable catalogues while other departments may just have a list of current publications. Methods of searching for Canadian Government Documents can include:

Find Government Publications by Department or Agency
Find publications by department or agency.
Government of Canada Publications Searchable Catalogue
This catalogue searches ALL Federal Government publication. To limit to just publications produced by a particular department go into the advance search option and put the department title of your choice in the Department/Agency box. You can further limit your search by filling in other boxes.
Search the Library Catalogue
Besides links to some electronic sources you can also find what paper format documents the various Novanet Libraries hold.

Statista

Statista - Canada
Subscription database that includes information, reports, outlooks and tools for a wide variety of subjects. SMU login required.

Frequently Used Federal Government Documents

Auditor General of Canada - Reports by Topic
Office of the Auditor General of Canada. All Reports by Topic.
Auditor General Reports
Auditor General Reports (short list) up to and including Fall of 2016 reports.
Canada Gazette
The Canada Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government of Canada. You can learn about new statutes, new and proposed regulations, administrative board decisions and public notices. Find out how government departments, businesses and other Canadian organizations can publish their public notices.
Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms
View in full the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. From 1982, it is a part of Canada's Constitution. The Charter protects every Canadian's right to be treated equally under the law.
Consolidated Acts and Regulations
The official online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada. The consolidations are generally updated every two weeks.
Estimates and Expenditure Plans
Estimates Publications and Appropriation Acts. Reports on Plans and Priorities are expenditure plans for each department and agency (excluding Crown corporations).
Federal Budget
If you want to know more about how budgets are tabled in the House of Commons, what happens to budgets after they are tabled, and how they fit into the government's annual financial cycle, check out this related information on the Parliamentary website.
House of Commons Debates (1867 to February 2, 1996)
The Debates are the report—transcribed, edited, and corrected—of what is said in the House.
House of Commons Debates (January 17, 1994 to present)
The Debates are the report—transcribed, edited, and corrected—of what is said in the House.
House of Commons Journals (1867 to Sep 8, 1993)
The Journals are the official record of the decisions and other transactions of the House.
House of Commons Journals (Jan 17, 1994 to present)
The Journals are the official record of the decisions and other transactions of the House.
LEGISinfo
An essential research tool for finding information on legislation before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about each bill.
Public Accounts of Canada
Includes the audited consolidated financial statements of the Government of Canada and information from departments, agencies, Crown corporations and other reporting entities.
Senate of Canada Debates
Includes the latest debates of the Senate.
Senate of Canada Journals
Includes the latest journals of the Senate.

Canadian Federal Government Websites

Government of Canada Frequent Contacts
Contacts by department or agency.
Government of Canada Website
Includes information on popular topics and departments such as: immigration, taxes, jobs, business & industry, benefits, national security, indigenous affairs, culture, etc.
The Governor General of Canada
Learn more about the Governor General’s role and responsibilities, and how Canadians are coming together in the face of adversity.
Parliament of Canada
In depth information on the House of Commons, the Senate, Parliament and more.
Prime Minister of Canada
Includes information including: news releases, statements, itineraries, speeches, readouts, etc.
Statistics Canada Website
Statistics Canada is the national statistical office. The agency ensures Canadians have the key information on Canada's economy, society and environment that they require to function effectively as citizens and decision makers.
Supreme Court of Canada
Visit to access Supreme Court of Canada cases, acts & rules, library, jobs, judges, judgments and media.

Canada and the World

Canada's Foreign Policy, Trade Agreements, Development Work and More.
Services and information includes: International offices and emergency contacts, study, work and travel worldwide, international trade and investment, information by countries and territories, and more.
Foreign Representatives in Canada
Find the most accurate information on foreign missions and international organizations accredited to Canada, and persons occupying a bilateral or multilateral posting. Updated daily.
Immigration and Citizenship
Apply to travel, study, work or immigrate to Canada, apply for citizenship, a permanent resident card or refugee protection, check the status of your application or find a form.
Trade Commissioner Service
For 125 years, the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) has been helping companies navigate international markets. Trade commissioners in more than 160 cities worldwide can provide you with key business insights and access to an unbeatable network of international contacts.

Help for International Students

Staying in Canada after Graduation
Information on the Post-Graduation Work Permit Program.
Student Work Permit
Information on work programs for international students.
Study in Canada as an international student
Information regarding applying to schools in Canada as an international student, getting a study permit, scholarships for international students, etc.