Government Documents and Information Canada

Subscription database that includes information, reports, outlooks and tools for a wide variety of subjects. SMU login required.

Electronic format: 2002-

Electronic format: 1758-

Electronic format. 1971-

Electronic format. 1855-

Electronic format.

The Journals and Proceedings of the House of Assembly are the minutes of the activities of the House as recorded by the Clerks of the House. Electronic format.

Electronic format: 1996-

Electronic format. 1959-

Electronic format. 1956-

Explanation of the various courts in Nova Scotia and the roles they play.

Includes daily stats and archival stats.

Find your electoral district.

These constituency histories have been compiled by the Legislative Library. They detail the electoral boundary changes and election results from 1867 to the present.

Topics include: taxes and benefits, births, deaths, business, housing, industry, education, etc.

Timeline of the legislature including links to historical documents.

Information includes: history, news, currents events, requests, honours & awards.

Includes links to locations and hours, contact information, government structure, departments, agencies and commissions.

List of members of the NS Legislative Assembly with links to their websites, party they belong to, constituency, and whether they are in Cabinet.

Government and private sector records of significance to Nova Scotia. Searchable access to archival and library collections, including links to vital statistics and virtual exhibits.

Public Enquiries responds to requests for information on provincial government programs and initiatives. The department operates a province wide, toll free telephone and email enquiry service and maintains a comprehensive database of information.

Making government data easier to access for individuals, businesses, and researchers.

The Legislative Library is the official depository for Nova Scotia government publications and maintains as complete a collection as possible. Through exchange agreements, the Library has acquired a strong collection of federal publications as well as publications from other provinces.

The Nova Scotia Legislature is the legislative branch of the Government of Nova Scotia. It is made up of democratically elected representatives (the MLAs) who form the House of Assembly, and the Lieutenant Governor. The Legislature makes laws, controls provincial public spending, and monitors and questions the executive branch’s policies and actions.